Living Forest Designs & A Chow Life – I Won!

Yesterday morning I looked out my window and saw blue skies and sun illuminating the gorgeous Fall trees and I knew it was going to be a good day. Well, my day got better. Robin of Seattle-based food blog A Chow Life informed me that I won her Living Forest Designs giveaway! I’ve never ever won anything in my life. Not even a bingo game. Seriously. And it doesn’t really take much to make me happy, so I was just giddy with joy. I called my husband and said “I won something!!!!” He said, “What? A trip somewhere?” Me: “No silly, bunny bookends!” That’s right folks, I scored these adorable bunny-shaped children’s bookshelf from Living Forest Designs (also based in Seattle – I’m feeling some Seattle pride right about now). What’s absolutely wonderful is the bookshelf is non-toxic and crafted from sustainable wood.

Living Forest Designs makes products and furniture that are built to last a lifetime. Think carefully crafted goods “like they used to make ‘em in the old days” that can be passed on from generation to generation; thereby reducing waste and keeping family memories alive. A majority of the lumber they use is certified as sustainably harvested by the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC), the finishes are water-based and have low levels of volatile organic compounds. Oh, and even their website is hosted on 100% solar-powered servers. They do custom work, single pieces, and small production runs, and can make everything from a pen to coffee tables. How beautiful are these food-safe bowls?

And a few other beautifully crafted pieces for the little ones.

This is a small company that just launched last year. For those that can financially afford to spend more on well-crafted investment pieces, please support local and independent businesses whenever possible! Check them out on their Facebook page.

This entry was posted in Design, Seattle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

