Mortar and Pestle

A mortar and pestle set has been on my wish list for quite some time. They remind me of the matriarchs in my family, some who are no longer here. They especially remind me of my mom sitting on the kitchen floor, with her legs outstretched, pounding garlic with the mortar and pestle the way she did it since she was a child. I didn’t realize how comforting that sound of the pestle striking against the mortar or the pungent smell of mashed up garlic could be, or the way my mom looked so lovely as she performed simple food rituals like that. “Why are you taking pictures of me like this on the floor?” she asked, a few months ago. I told her I was feeling sentimental and just wanted to capture the moment. And she, of course, thought I was just nuts. Nuts or not, I want one like all the women in my family have had one. Here’s options presented by EcoSalon as well as a detailed article about the different types of mortars and pestles from Gourmet Sleuth.

Media_httpmediatumblr_fcvje

This entry was posted in Family, Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

