Lulu Organics Hair Powder

I can’t believe I used to wash my hair everyday, and with shampoos containing artificial fragrances and parabens. I cringe just thinking about it. Now I only wash my hair two or three times a week with Dr. Bonner’s soap (next post). But it would be nice not to have that funky oily shine or that sweaty smell that makes you feel like not getting too close to someone or putting your hair down on your freshly washed pillow cases. Then I started hearing about dry shampoo, and Lulu Organics caught my immediate attention, mainly because of their gorgeous packaging and organic ingredients. I absolutely adore packaging with a nod to another era and this looks like something I’d want to display on my antique dresser. The purpose of this powder is to refresh your hair between hair washes by soaking up the greasy shine and leaving hair smelling fresh. You simply sprinkle a dime size amount of the powder into your hands and rub through the roots of your dry hair, and voila you’re ready to leave your house without dirty hair anxiety.

Media_httpmediatumblr_ewzgi
Media_httpmediatumblr_tzafq

What I love is that New York City-based Lulu Organics isn’t trying to sell women something comprised of toxic chemicals under the guise of a pretty package. These powders are talc and paraben free, made with USDA organic corn starch, organic rice powder, Oregon Tilth Certified Organic horsetail powder, white clay, baking soda and essential oils. Their products are not tested on animals, they use biodegradable/recyclable packaging, and their production facility uses practices that are better for the environment. And how quirky is this, Lulu Organics owner Linda Aldredge’s vacation home isn’t some fancy schmancy yacht, it’s a stylin treehouse! So what’s not to love? Well, maybe the price is an issue for some folks.

When this first came out, I didn’t purchase it because $40 is a bit too expensive for me. However, when my budget hopefully becomes a bit more flexible in the future, I really look forward to trying their $10 travel size hair powder. This would have been so helpful to use when I lived in Hawaii where my hair perpetually smelled like sweat. The powder comes in a variety of scents: lavendar/clary sage, patchouli/amber, jasmine, and tuberose. Lulu Organics also now sells a lip balm and has a face cream in the works. I’d love to know if you or someone you know has tried this product.

Media_httpmediatumblr_yfdhf

www.luluorganicsnyc.com

This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

