Cook At Home More

Another great article by Mark Bittman on the benefits and pleasures of cooking at home. Here’s a snippet:

When I cook, though, everything seems to go right. I shop an average of every two weeks in a supermarket, and make a couple of trips a week to smaller stores. I’m aware that my choices are mostly imperfect, but I rarely conclude that I should make a burger and fries for dinner or provide a pound per person of prison-raised pork served with fruit from 10,000 miles away, followed by a cake full of sugar and artificial ingredients. Yet, for the most part, that describes restaurant food.

Clearly he comes from a privileged perspective, and he points that out, but I believe he’s simply trying to focus on an easy, tangible solution to this larger food system problem: The more you cook at home, the better it is for your health and your wallet.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

