Birthday Blessings

Yesterday was my birthday. I woke up feeling as I did the day before. I looked in the mirror and saw the same face. I didn’t feel particularly “aged.” I started my day drinking my black coffee with cinnamon as I normally do. I wasn’t expecting the day to be good or bad. I was just happy to have another chance at another day. Then suddenly things started to shift into the special territory. My love made me a spectacular lunch, and presented me with two gifts. Now, you have to know the last two years have been pretty rough for us so we don’t do gifts. But no matter how many times I tell him not to buy me anything, he still does. However, he wisely chooses gifts that are practical; something that just becomes second nature when you’re trying to be careful with money and not be wasteful. My first gift: He fixed a pair of my favorite black shoes; shoes I’ve worn so often for so many years that they were falling apart (I tend to wear shoes to the point people see the parts of my feet they’re not supposed to). I know it’s not a glamorous gift, but for me it made my day. My second gift: He gave me the gift of health – five introductory yoga classes. What a good man. Then my mom sang me a happy birthday song from afar, and at that moment I felt so blessed. And when I didn’t think things could get better, the sun and blues skies unexpectedly appeared before me. It had been cold, gray, dark and more like February than July this entire week, but yesterday at 3:00 PM the sun decided to give me a break from melancholy just for a few hours. So I spent the rest of the day sitting in the grass feeling the warmth on my body and watching kids jumping off diving boards. Today it’s back to rain and dark skies, which makes yesterday seem that much more magical.

This entry was posted in Family, Seattle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday Blessings

  1. Ah, thank you very much. I agree – it’s the simple things here and there, the thoughtful gestures that are customized for only you that matter, not how much he spent at the last minute from the most expensive store in the mall. Thanks again!

  2. Izzy says:

    This was such a beautiful post, I’m glad you shared. To many, gifts that glitter are the best, to me the best tokens are the ones that are as simple as him slipping your cell phone in your purse because he knows you always forget it…

    True love is grand.

    Happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

