Zucchini Broccoli Tofu Stir-Fry

This is what I call easy comfort food.  I had half a raw zucchini and half a bunch of raw broccoli I needed to use. I also had some sprouted tofu that had been sitting in my fridge for quite some time. So I decided to pull it all together with some soy sauce, and the three components quickly transformed into a nice Chinese style vegetable stir-fry dish. This meal is very easy on the wallet: $4.50 for 2 servings.

Ingredients (2 servings):

  • 1/2 zucchini
  • 1/2 large bunch broccoli
  • 1 sprouted tofu (or use mushrooms instead)
  • 2 tablespoon low-sodium organic soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/2 tablespoon potato starch (as a thickener)

Directions:

  • Make sauce by mixing soy sauce, rice vinegar, and sugar together; set aside.
  • After cutting tofu and vegetables, saute them on medium heat with olive oil for about five minutes. Add soy sauce mixture to the pan and cook vegetables for another minute.
  • In a small dish, add 1/2 a tablespoon of potato starch with 2 tablespoons of water and mix well. Add the starch mixture to the pan and stir the mixture with the vegetables very quickly (it thickens very fast) for about 30 seconds.
  • Serve with rice and barley.

I have to add that I grew up eating a lot of tofu – it’s always incorporated into my favorite Korean hot stews. But then I started reading reports a year ago that tofu may mimic estrogen and that eating too much could be a concern. That worried me. I’ve read too many conflicting reports on this issue, so until I find a straight answer, I don’t intend to give up a food very closely tied with mom’s home cooking, but I’ve gone from eating tofu several times a week to maybe twice a month. If anyone has further information on this tofu debate, please let me know. Oh, and if you’re wondering what sprouted tofu is, read here.

This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

