Zumba in the Park

I finally tried Zumba yesterday! I took a free one-hour class courtesy of the fantastic ladies of the Belltown Dance Studio at the Olympic Sculpture Park as part of Seattle Art Museum’s Get Out Summer at SAM series. For those who haven’t tried it, Zumba’s a cross between Latin dance and high intensity aerobic moves. I loved that the class was free, but I loved more that every one of us there was having such a fun time. It was definitely the most rigorous sweat-pouring workout I’ve done in recent years, but it didn’t feel like exercise; I just felt like I was dancing and having a good time at an outdoor party with killer views of the water and mountains.

Zumba can be a bit challenging in the beginning because the moves are so fast and if you don’t have a good view of the instructors, you can get a little lost. I was going left when everyone else was going right, which took me right back to the first day of ballet class as a child when my teacher out of frustration finally had to write L on my left hand and R on my right. I’m sure I looked like a hot mess to the dozens of onlookers who pulled up chairs to watch us the entire time. Some tourist is right now probably downloading a very unflattering photo of me and my zumba moves. But who cares, right? I just enjoyed the moment, stopped being self-conscious, and let go. A huge motivator for me to keep moving – the extremely toned and fit 60-something young lady who moved so beautifully and who didn’t stop once for a water break (I did five times).

Photos by me, Olympic Sculpture Park, Seattle, WA

This entry was posted in Health and Wellness, Seattle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

